Taylor Swift and the Lucky Golden Ticket

Reading has always been one of my most cherished past-times: as a child I spent hours flicking through the pages of Enid Blyton, J.K Rowling and Roald Dahl, drinking in their words. I was with Charlie, hoping to find a Wonka bar that contained that lucky, golden ticket. I was stood next to Matilda as she defeated Miss Trunchbull and finally found the love she always craved; I wasn’t alone. Any problems I had suddenly seemed superfluous and all that remained was the story and the characters of the book: my friends.

Whilst the words created by my most loved authors captured my imagination as a child, nowadays, the sounds of Taylor Swift and the sweet accompaniment of a bottle of red wine are far more likely to entice me on a Monday night. So earlier this year I made it my mission to read 25 books before I turn 25; the concept is adorable and I need to create goals for myself so I foolishly believe that my life has meaning.

Unfortunately, as someone with commitment issues,  I intend to follow through with everything I set my mind to but the execution isn’t quite there yet. Couple that with a love for binge-watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer and I’ve fallen off the reading bandwagon, and picked up a few library fines along the way.

I’m not a child anymore, I don’t have imaginary friends or climb into my wardrobe hoping to find Narnia: I can watch the film on Netflix instead, but isn’t that a crying shame? It’s about time I turned off my laptop and reconnected with some old friends: I think they’ve missed me.

Is there anything you’ve read lately that you’d recommend to spice up my bookshelf? 

24 responses to “Taylor Swift and the Lucky Golden Ticket

  1. Since my exams finished I’ve been binge reading again and it’s been fantastic. Nothing quite like a good book!

    Like

    • You are so right! Anything you recommend? 🙂

      Like

      • Well I’m reading ‘A fault in our stars’ at the moment (so I can enjoy the film more) and so far it’s really good! Before that I read ‘One Day’ and ‘The Pact’ by Jodi Picoult. All of these books are pretty serious and thought provoking which isn’t everyone’s thing but something I enjoy. Depends what you’re interested in!

        Like

      • I’ve read all three before so it seems we have similar taste in books! I really enjoyed the writing of John Green so you’ll have to let me know your thoughts once you’ve finished the book!

        Like

      • Really?! That’s pretty awesome! I’ll definitely share my thoughts about ‘A fault in the stars’. I can already tell it’s one of those books that I’ll remember for a long time.

        Like

      • It’s beautiful! I won’t say anything further for fear of spoiling it!:)

        Like

  2. Reading is FUNdamental! 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi 🙂 I found your blog on twitter and thought I’ll drop in…
    First off, I just want to say that you and I read all the same childhood books..and that feels good haha
    Second, I totally thought id outgrown books too, but it just took me one day of force-reading to get back on the reading thing again…
    You’re right, all you have to shut your laptop and settle down with a book and a cup of tea.. You’ll get back into the habit in no time!!
    Might I add that as a former binge-tv-show-watcher I find books faar more satisfying (in the long run at least?)

    Like

    • Welcome!

      I know! Just writing about them made me feel nostalgic, perhaps I’ll re-read a few!

      You’re so right, it’s easy to neglect reading but there’s something so satisfying about finishing a good book! Is there anything you’ve read lately that you’d recommend? 🙂

      Like

  4. There is this one book I know… It’ll probably only take you like, 30 mins to read too!

    PS – Roald Dahl was the man growing up

    Like

  5. The Howling Fantogs

    I feel the same way about reading. Those books you mentioned really stand the test of time and are just as enchanting as sn adult.

    Like

  6. The internet sort of took over my book reading time, so I made it my new years resolution to read more book. 2014 has been a good year so far!

    Like

Leave a Reply

