Customer Serviced

As someone who can’t even watch a heated argument on television without hiding my face in my hands, complaining about bad service is my worst nightmare. I’ve never taken my food back in a restaurant and I if I accidentally forget to say “please” whilst asking Mary at Starbucks for a coffee, I feel guilty for days. So naturally, the discovery that Amazon had taken money out of my account for something I hadn’t ordered was less than ideal.

As I spent an hour on the phone, having to recant my email address to at least 5 different Amazon employees, something strange happened. I don’t know if it was the incredulous Dylan who seemed shocked that money had been taken from me when he couldn’t even find an account for an ‘xxlifeisbetterblondexx@hotmail.com’ or the fact that I had to repeat this story to at least 5 different people just as delightful as him, but I got angry. For the first time ever, I took pleasure in complaining.

Our discussion went a little something like this:-

“I understand that working on a Saturday is less than peachy considering half of your friends are tweeting about drinking sangria at the beach, but please, please – and this is to all customer service representatives – please at least pretend to care about my problems. I know that £60 of my money means bugger all to you considering you get paid minimum wage and work in a call centre, but every time you tell me that you can’t see any money has been taken from my account, a piece of my soul dies.”

In the end I got a full refund and a sense of accomplishment in knowing that the gentleman who told me he’d help me as a “gesture of good will” still had another 6 hours left of his shift. Being bad never felt so good.

9 responses to “Customer Serviced

  1. I am a lot like you, confrontation scares the hell out of me, and just the thought of having to make a complaint makes my heart race, good on you for standing up for yourself.

    Like

  2. Good for you. I too am one to shy away from any sort of confrontation and whenever I call anyone to complain, it sounds like I’m apologising to them.

    Now I initially saw the Amazon reference and thought that it was my book you were referring to! But even I wouldn’t pay £60 for that piece of crap.

    Like

  3. Thanks!

    Haaha! Well I’m sure I wouldn’t be complaining if they’d accidentally charged me £60 for your book 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I did tell you that you can be nice and be an ass at the same time. #WisewordsofSeb #EveryoneshouldlistentoSebmore #Hashtag

    Like

  5. Way to go, girlfriend! Show those customer service people some attitude! (coming from a customer service person 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

