Avril Lavigne and the Happy Ending

I’m a daydreamer; since a young age I’ve always loved the way reading a book can take me away from this world and transport me to another. One of my earliest memories is of reading ‘The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe’ and attempting to find my way into Narnia just as Lucy did. Of course disappointment always came as I realised that in my world there was no Narnia – just a pile of old coats.

My addiction to a life outside of this one also found its way into the stories I wrote at school. No matter what tragedies befell the heroine in my tale, she was always saved by a pod of dolphins: the naïve hope that in the end, we all get a happy ending. With age and experience, I’ve lost a little of that hope. The young girl who sat reading Harry Potter, convinced that the last book would end with the death of Voldemort and the triumph of good over evil has grown up a little.

I’ve tried multiple times to start writing my own book, I’ve sat for hours brainstorming ideas regarding themes and characters but only one idea seems to stick. The image of me sat alone in a coffee shop, crying and watching the world go by. I can’t seem to get past that or go any further with the story. I’m not sure whether that’s the way my story ends or if the lead character eventually gets the happy ending she always dreamt of as a child.

4 responses to “Avril Lavigne and the Happy Ending

  1. deepbluesandseafoamgreens

    Awwwww I hope you do get your happy ending. And some cupcakes too!

    Like

  2. I feel like this post is the way I feel sometimes. You translated my life very well into words. I can’t wait to read more of your posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

