Love in the Time of Cholera

As it’s Easter Sunday, I was thinking about religion and how I’d completely forgotten the purpose of this bank holiday weekend. Instead of thinking about the resurrection of Christ, I couldn’t wait to have an extra 2 days off work. I don’t want to open a can of worms by talking about religion: I’m a firm believer in keeping my mouth shut if I’m not well informed enough on the subject, and commenting on religion tends to be a tricky topic to tackle. I write frivolous posts about failed relationships and perfecting the perfect tweet, so I’m not about to comment on how prevalent religion is in a time where people read their twitter timeline more than the bible.

It has, however made me reminisce about a past relationship with someone who was a devout Christian. Our fling only lasted for a few weeks, but at the time I couldn’t believe someone so intelligent and accomplished would want to date me. He was sweet, thoughtful and when he broke things off, I was devastated. One of the main reasons for this was his religion: he couldn’t see himself with someone who didn’t believe in God, he planned to marry a Christian like himself and didn’t think I could ever understand why it was so important to him.

I have to say he was right. At the time all I saw were my feelings for him and how happy he made me. I was a naïve, selfish, romanticist: but that isn’t practical. I’ve ended relationships with men because they were dull and lacked ambition, for me those are characteristics that a potential partner has to have, for him a belief in God was the deal breaker.

Years later and he’s married to the kind of woman he always planned to spend his life with, and I couldn’t be happier for him. As an atheist, I might not be able to fully appreciate the importance of Easter, but looking back has given me a new found respect and understanding for how our beliefs can shape the trajectory of our lives.

5 responses to “Love in the Time of Cholera

  1. I could never really understand religion being a factor in relationships. The way I see it, if two people have different viewpoints, as long as they don’t try to force their beliefs on one another, it should work right? And even if it got to the point of marriage and kids, surely presenting both arguments to the kids for them to make an informed decision on their life approach would work?

    Then again, while it personally wouldn’t bother me, shit like that would get my family riled up I reckon. I dunno, people need to be more relaxed I guess.

    I’m sure you’ll find your soulmate at some point dude. It’s all good. *hug*

    Like

    • I agree, for me characteristics such as a sense of humour and intelligence are major contributing factors in my decision to date someone. Some people might find that as unimportant a factor as religion is to us, so I guess I’m just trying to see things from another point of view.

      Like

      • Regardless, he’s a pleb.

        Also, I’m putting you on the spot. Facebook friends. Yay or nay?

        Like

      • Sure – If you can find me – I don’t exactly post anything on it though apart from pictures of myself.

        Like

      • Well this is going to take my creepy stalking skills to the next level if I manage to find you hahaha!

        Not really fussed what you post on Facebook (though I’m loving the whole “bow down at my life everyone” thing) I just wanna harass you for conversation every now and again, because I feel that would be hilarious for some reason.

        Like

Leave a Reply

