I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22!

When I was younger I always thought that by the time I was 24 I’d have my shit together and have become the perfect hybrid of Elle Woods and Florence Nightingale: a saint with a sassy attitude and a pink business suit to match. After all I left my mother’s womb when she was 24 and Emma Watson’s younger than me and she’s already achieved world domination. By the age of 24 it becomes much harder to convince people that you’re doing well just by quoting Oscar Wilde or claiming you do things for the ‘experience.’ By the age of 24 you’re an adult and there’s nothing you can do about it.

This weekend I turned 24, and as many of my friends regaled me with various tales of their success I realised that I haven’t achieved anything I set out to do as a teenager. Not only am I poor, single and a couple of pounds overweight but I still haven’t received any tweets from Anna Kendrick or Taylor Swift which makes my dream of us becoming the new Destiny’s Child seem even further away.

In an attempt to be more Emma Stone meets Jennifer Lawrence and less Stig of the Dump chic I’ve decided to make a few adjustments to my life such as reading ‘The Times’ and watching documentaries about saving the penguins. Combine that with switching from white to red wine and I’m basically the modern day Audrey Hepburn. As long I seem like I’ve got it together surely there’s no harm in spending my alone time watching reruns of Cupcake Wars and eating an entire bag of Doritos?

10 responses to “I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22!

  1. Happy Birthday!! I’m a recently turned twenty two year old, but still this made my heart dive- I know exactly how you feel! When I was fifteen and optimistic I assumed I’d be happily married by 25…that definitely won’t be happening seeing as I can barely remain committed to a week’s worth of Eastenders viewing let alone a man! Maybe, this is YOUR year, perhaps it all comes perfectly together for you before you turn 25!! Enjoy it- red wine in hand ofcourse xxx

    Like

    • Thank you very much! It doesn’t seem a minute since I turned 22 and before I know it I’ll be 30. It’s scary seeing the years pass you by and not being exactly where you want but I suppose that’s life!

      Enjoy 22 – maybe it’s your year as well! 🙂 xx

      Like

  2. Feeling a bit awkward for communicating with someone I don’t know, I must say that I am a bit taken with your writing. Being new to WordPress, Ive slogged through a lot to find a refreshing writer, You have a gift and I hope you nurture it. On a personal note, Happy Birthday, and rest assured the happiest and most successful people, in their dotage, still don:t know what they want to do when they grow up. At any rate, keep writing. It may just be your calling.

    Like

  3. Happy birthday! It’s the damn economy. People don’t realize that 24 is the new 22. Things aren’t exactly laid before our feet after college graduation these days. It can take years just to get that first soul-sucking, horrible job that catapults you into that miserable adulthood that our parents are so anxious for us to adopt!

    Like

    • Exactly – and perhaps it’ll take years of going from one miserable, dead-end job to the next before we even get to a place where we’re happy with where our career is headed?

      Like

  4. i can’t help it! i’m liking every single post of yours so far 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

