Various clichés with a sprinkling of self importance on top.

As the voice of our generation, Britney Spears once said: “I’m not a girl, not yet a woman”, in fact I spent the entire night with one eye open, half expecting Ruth Gordon to be stood above my bed holding some Tannis Root. Despite this, like everyone else on the planet January is a time for me to reflect on my various misdeeds in 2013 and at least try to improve my mind, body, and soul in the year to come.

Basically, I’ve been living my life as a 5/10 kind of person when I can at least  stretch a bit further and be a solid 7/10, it might be a tad cliché but this year I want to be a better version of myself. Honestly though I’m a fan of clichés, I truly believe that love is blind, curiosity killed the cat and money is the root of all evil. So why not add ‘new year, new me’ to the list as well; if you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em! (Okay, I really will stop now.)

First on the list is improving my intellect: I have a lifelong passion for books and film which isn’t quite being sated by watching reruns of ‘The Hills’ and reading ‘Cosmopolitan’ in my spare time. Hopefully it isn’t too late to fulfil my ultimate dream of becoming a Gilmore Girl!

 If we’re talking about intellect, I should probably add writing more to the list, lately I’ve been slacking and have rarely checked into the inspiration station. I started this blog as a means of escape and wouldn’t think twice about posting my innermost thoughts and feelings on the internet. However, as more people I know have discovered it, what was once sacred now feels like cheap titillation for those I’d rather not be reading it. I either need to start over with my blog or just fuck the system as it were and post regardless, I hate that my writing has suffered because I’m afraid of being honest.

Lastly, and most importantly, I need to be a better person. Although I do need to open my mind, which should in turn help me become a better version of myself, I should probably improve my soul too. I know I can do more, be more. I can do anything I want and I’ve been limiting myself to certain people and certain experiences which bring me down rather than build me up. Life’s tough at the top and it’s even harder when you should be reaching for the stars but you’re playing with the rats. I might not be Lorelai Gilmore, an Olsen Twin or Jennifer Lawrence but I certainly won’t get anywhere near if I don’t try.

2 responses to “Various clichés with a sprinkling of self importance on top.

  1. The people you spend (the most) time with will deeply affect you…best to stick with those who really inspire you. I’d rather be a little intimidated by someone a few rungs ahead of me professionally, creatively or intellectually and try to figure out how or why they’re succeeding.

    I think your blog is terrific. Write more. Write longer — and, yes, go deeper.

    Like

  2. It’s definitely something I’ve been thinking about more in the past couple of months and has inspired me to be more ambitious and creative: especially with my writing.

    Thank you for your kind words and sage advice – it’s much appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

