Don’t drink and drive/do what you want it’s your life after all

“I discovered at a very early age that if I talk long enough, I can make anything right or wrong. So either I’m God or truth is relative. In either case, booyah!”- Jeff Winger- Community

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the difference between right and wrong. As a person that feels guilty for not having change to tip in a restaurant, acting in a way I know is immoral is something I try and avoid. After all: karma is an ever looming threat we all should be aware of.

Lately though, I’ve been trying to justify my bad behaviour: if every inch of me is screaming I should do something how bad can it be? If my heart wants something how wrong is it to act on that? Should we repress what we desire just because it wanders slightly off of our moral scale or will doing so create a sickness which cannot be cured until you fill that void? I’m starting to realise that life isn’t black and white: there’s 50 shades of grey. Even people that drink cold beverages in mugs and eat on public transport aren’t all bad, I’m sure.

4 responses to “Don’t drink and drive/do what you want it’s your life after all

  1. Nothing wrong with being bad from time to time, you’re human after all. Besides, even nice people (from what I’ve gathered since I followed you) need to be in touch with their dark side every now and again! As long as you haven’t brutally stabbed someone to death you’ll be alright.

    Like

  2. I often feel conflicted about repression and doing ‘bad’ things, as well. Its true that repressing your every wish (“I wish I could eat a brownie with chocolate sauce! Argh!”) is more detrimental than occasionally giving in (I ultimately broke down and had three; though I of course overeating can’t really be considered to be bad per se).

    I guess the simplest answer to all of this is balance, and knowing when to give in and how much. (Unhelpfully smug though that might sound.) :/

    Like

  3. *though of course.

    Sorry typo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

