Aside

Love and Other Drugs.

Oscar Wilde once wrote: “The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it. Resist it and your soul grows sick with longing for the things it has forbidden to itself.” Therefore, purchasing only ‘Ben & Jerry’s’, white wine and decadent cheese sauces from ‘Tesco’ today is probably for the best in the long run. Also, stalking the male you fell in love with’s new girlfriend on Facebook: healthy in the grand scheme of things!

I’ve been resisting stalking his pictures and wall posts for traces of blissful happiness with a chick that isn’t me for a week now, since the day my heart was crushed into a thousand pieces and any faint hope that he’d change his mind and realise that I am in fact ‘the one’ was annihilated. I’ve been telling myself that I’ve moved on for months now, but the realisation that the time and energy I spent in love alone, and the nights spent crying into my glass of chardonnay were wasted nights, wasted feelings, can be slightly disconcerting. You know what though, when I finally did bite the bullet and stalk him and his new lady love, I felt nothing, for him at least. I didn’t look at him and want to rip off his clothes or wish it was me in his arms; the overriding emotion I felt was simply a slight sadness that I’m not happy with someone like the people in the picture. But in my picture, it’s no longer him I want next to me. It’s not him.

On that note, I’m going to celebrate my small victory by yielding to all of my other temptations: ‘Ben & Jerry’s’ and white wine, I’m not sure I’m ready to get over you just yet.

Leave a Reply

