Apologies for seeming incredibly self involved AKA New Year’s resolutions.

This is going to be one of those incredibly cliché posts you’ll see repeated all over the internet around this time of year, but seeing as I’m a huge fan of jumping on the band wagon it’s time to re-evaluate my life as we enter the new year! Oh what fun!

If I were a cocktail I’d be an odd but delicious mixture of self-hatred and narcissism with a dash of lime to top it off, so finding ways to try and improve myself in 2013 really hasn’t been a difficult task. One of my favourite things ever is writing a bullet-point list, so lets jump right in:

1)   Be better with money. This means no more expensive but delicious Starbucks coffee: just because the barista knows my name that does not mean we’re friends. Have some instant coffee instead and learn to like it. Also no more buying black dresses. Number 1 I already have 15 in my wardrobe which look identical, and as much as I wish I was, I’m not Morticia Addams. Maybe If I stop thinking I’m Richard-Fucking-Branson I’ll eventually get out of my overdraft that’s been killing me for the last 2 years.

2)   Stop being so hard on myself. I spend so much time worrying and feeling guilty it literally consumes me. If I don’t go out because I’m tired from work I’ll worry that people will be mad with me, they’ll eventually stop talking to me, I’ll have no friends left and be living in a gutter with no-one but my cat. And I don’t even own a cat. I need to learn that it’s okay to be selfish, I don’t have to please people all the time and I can say no, it’s okay to say no. I’m 22, it’s my life and I’ll do what I want. Hurrah.

Well I think that’s pretty much it, I’m not sure a bullet-point list was really necessary here but I’m throwing caution to the wind and doing what I damn well please. I’m at least safe in the knowledge that I can’t be a bigger knob in 2013 than I was in 2012, so if anything the only way is up from here! Happy New Year one and all, three cheers for self-improvement!

PS: I apologise for the amount of exclamation marks in this post. New Years Resolution number 3: find some other punctuation marks to be friends with.

Leave a Reply

